Hedge Fund Sponsored Man Booker Prize 2012 Shortlist

New York (HedgeCo.Net) – Deborah Levy, Hilary Mantel, Alison Moore, Will Self, Tan Twan Eng and Jeet Thayil are the six shortlisted authors in contention for the Man Booker Prize 2012.

Sponsored by hedge fund giant Man Group PLC., the Booker Prize Foundation works to promote the art of literature for the public benefit through various schemes, initiatives and projects.

The judges praised the powerful language and artistry displayed in the six books, whose common themes include old age, memory and loss.

The six books include:

Tan Twan Eng: The Garden of Evening Mists (Myrmidon Books)
Deborah Levy: Swimming Home (And Other Stories / Faber & Faber)
Hilary Mantel: Bring up the Bodies (Fourth Estate)
Alison Moore: The Lighthouse (Salt)
Will Self: Umbrella (Bloomsbury)
Jeet Thayil: Narcopolis (Faber & Faber)

This year’s winner will be announced on Tuesday 16 October 2012, at a dinner at London’s Guildhall, where the announcement of the winner will be televised by the BBC. Each shortlisted author will receive £2,500 ($4,000) and a specially commissioned handbound edition of their book. The winner will receive a further £50,000 ($81,000).

Salman Rushdie’ Midnight’s Children won the prize in 1981 as well as The Booker of Bookers in 1993 and The Best of the Booker in 2008.

Alex Akesson
Editor for HedgeCo.net
HedgeCo.Net is a premier hedge fund database and community for qualified and accredited investors only. Membership in HedgeCo.net is FREE and EASY. We also offer FREE LISTINGS for Hedge Funds!

This entry was posted in HedgeCo News, Philanthropy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hedge Fund Sponsored Man Booker Prize 2012 Shortlist

  1. Pingback: Hedge Fund News: Jeffrey Smith, George Soros, Ray Dalio

Leave a Reply